About Us

Hi, my name is Steve Harding and I love living in the south of Spain, in Andalusia (Andalucia). I have been living here for 6 years or so and I love the climate and the people and the freedom that we have here in Spain, to do what we want to do. I love tha fact that we can arrange a BBQ for two weeks next Saturday and know (with a good degree of certainty) that the BBQ will take place on the stated day and the sun will be shining. I love the fact that there are hardly any fences and we can walk almost anywhere that we want to.

Life here is about sun and relaxation. We know it will (almost certainly) be a sunny day tomorrow and the next day, so it’s possible to make plans and to get out and about. With more than 320 days of sunshine a year this is the sunniest place in Europe, so I make the most of it, especially when there are visitors.

Whether I have laze around the pool or full on beach / cycling / walking / horse riding type of visitor(s), this is THE best place to make the most of your hard earned vacation time.

Whatever we do during the day, however hectic it has been, at the end of every day we can chill around the pool with a cool beer or a glass of local wine and unwind to the calming sound of the cicadas in the almond and olive trees.

The house has been designed around an outdoor existence. We even have an outdoor kitchen (including three different BBQ’s and a portable oven and a hob) for use when it’s too hot or more sociable to cook outside (when everyone is in the pool or chilling with a glass of wine) as the evening air gets a little cooler.

I have uninvited guests on ocassion, as can be seen from the slides above (Praying Mantis, Toad, Gekko etc). As I live in the country (campo), so it is to be expected and generally they are welcome as they help to control the flies and midges.

I have some lovely companions, a dog called Bella (she is a cross between a galgo (Spanish greyhound) and a Podenca (Spanish hunting dog) and she just loves to hunt and search when we are out walking. I also have two Spanish cats (Millie and Max), who are brother and sister. I also sometimes have foster animals as well. Recently was a Dalmatian cross (Poppy), who stayed with me for a few months during the autumn of 2014, along with three kittens (who turned up unannounced one day). Lately I have been looking after a German Shorthaired Pointer (Rosa), that I fostered for a few weeks, before she went off to the UK (Isle of Wight) to her “Forever Home”, where she is adored by a loving family.

Currently I have Trixie, a very timid 6 month old “Pachon Navarre” (Spanish Pointer), This was an urgent foster, due to the fact that she would have been a prime candidate for hunters and breeders here in Spain. She will be with me until a more permanent fosterer OR until her “Forever Home” can be found.

You can see photos of all my lovely animals on the “Gallery” page.

If you should require further details of the services that I can provide or require something different / special, please do not hesitate to contact me and I will do what I can for you.

 

About Us Collage

6 Comments

  1. Hello Casa Almendra, Do you cater for Bushcraft types? My family are looking for more of an ‘Off the beaten path’ adventure?

    Thank you

    • Hi Lee
      Many thanks for your enquiry. We do indeed have a big interest in Bushcraft and can help you to realise your specific requirement, if you let me know more details
      Kind regards
      Steve

Comments are closed.